Horror

Horror fiction is fiction in any medium intended to scare, unsettle, or horrify the audience. Historically, the cause of the "horror" experience has often been the intrusion of a supernatural element into everyday human experience. Since the 1960s, any work of fiction with a morbid, gruesome, surreal, or exceptionally suspenseful or frightening theme has come to be called "horror". Horror fiction often overlaps science fiction or fantasy, all three of which categories are sometimes placed under the umbrella classification speculative fiction.

Elevation
Sawkill Girls
Dracul
Blood Communion (The Vampire Chronicles, #13)
Little
Alice Isn't Dead
The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow
In the House in the Dark of the Woods
The Labyrinth Index (Laundry, Files #9)
Villain (Monster #2)
The Darkdeep (The Darkdeep, #1)
Where She Fell
Limetown: The Prequel to the #1 Podcast
The Bus on Thursday
The World of Lore: Dreadful Places
  • The Looking Glass by H.L. Sudler
    The Looking Glass: Tales of Light and Dark
    by
    Release date: Nov 11, 2018
    Enter for a chance to win one of 20 advance copies of H.L. Sudler's new book, The Looking Glass: Tales of Light and Dark, a collection of eleven spook ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 30 copies available, 543 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 14 - Nov 21, 2018

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Redeemer by M.C.  Glan
    The Redeemer (The Temple Of Empia Saga, #2)
    by
    Release date: Nov 23, 2018
    Enter for a chance to win an advance copy of The Redeemer, the second book in the Temple Of Empia Saga!

    This dark fantasy story continues after book on
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 86 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 15 - Nov 22, 2018

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Seven Days by Patrick Senécal
    Seven Days
    by
    Release date: Jan 01, 2019
    Enter for the chance to win 1 of 5 advance reader's copies of SEVEN DAYS by Patrick Senecal.

    For fans of Stephen King’s Misery and Jo Nesbø’s The Snow
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 297 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 12 - Nov 24, 2018

    Countries available: Canada

  • Elevation
    Daughters of the Lake
    Stillhouse Lake (Stillhouse Lake, #1)
    Behind Closed Doors
    The Outsider
    The Grownup
    The Sleep Tight Motel (Dark Corners collection)
    Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #1
    The Ocean at the End of the Lane
    In a Dark, Dark Wood
    City of Ghosts (Cassidy Blake, #1)
    The End of Temperance Dare
    Hunted
    The Retreat
    Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #6
    'Salem's Lot by Stephen KingDracula by Bram StokerInterview with the Vampire by Anne RiceDark Lover by J.R. WardThe Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
    Best Adult Vampire Books
    1,599 books — 7,459 voters
    Jane Eyre by Charlotte BrontëDracula by Bram StokerWuthering Heights by Emily BrontëFrankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft ShelleyRebecca by Daphne du Maurier
    Best Gothic Books Of All Time
    599 books — 2,616 voters

    A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasMermen by Mimi Jean PamfiloffRed Queen by Victoria AveyardAn Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa TahirSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    New Series (2015)
    434 books — 1,311 voters
    The Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenGone Girl by Gillian FlynnThe Martian by Andy WeirWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart
    What we've read so far in...2015
    10,293 books — 2,135 voters

    The Shining (The Shining, #1)
    It
    Dracula
    Carrie
    Frankenstein
    'Salem's Lot
    The Stand
    Pet Sematary
    Misery
    The Haunting of Hill House
    World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
    Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles, #1)
    Cujo
    Doctor Sleep (The Shining, #2)
    Needful Things

    Darren Shan
    Darren Shan City of the Snakes (The City Trilogy, #3)
    His Favorite Horror: The master of macabre shares his favorite works of terror just in time for his new noir fantasy, City of the Snakes.
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    Mark  Lawrence
    I’ll tell you now. That silence almost beat me. It’s the silence that scares me. It’s the blank page on which I can write my own fears. The spirits of the dead have nothing on it. The dead one tried to show me hell, but it was a pale imitation of the horror I can paint on the darkness in a quiet moment.
    Mark Lawrence, Prince of Thorns

    Clive Barker
    I think that God that we have created and allowed to shape our culture through, essentially Christian theology is a pretty villainous creature. I think that one of the things that male patriarchal figure has done is, allowed under it's, his church, his wing, all kinds of corruptions and villainies to grow and fester. In the name of that God terrible wars have been waged, in the name of that God terrible sexism has been allowed to spread. There are children being born all across this world that d ...more
    Clive Barker

    More quotes...
    Spells, Space & Screams: Collections & Anthologies in Fantasy, Science Fiction, & Horror Welcome to the kingdom of short stories! Every month we will read a collection or anthology. Eac…more

    965 members, last active 22 hours ago

    Stephen King Fans A place for all Stephen King fans to gather and discuss his work. Welcome Constant Readers!! EST…more

    10,995 members, last active an hour ago

    Sylshallon-a Fantasy/Sci-fi Utopia Welcome to "Sylshallon" where reading high fantasy, science fiction, mythology, and fairytales w…more

    96 members, last active 19 hours ago

    I'm a high school student and I read a lot of books for fun and for school. This is just a place…more

    2 members, last active 29 days ago

    Make A Wish
    2 chapters — updated May 28, 2010 06:33AM — 7 people liked it
    Badluck
    8 chapters — updated Aug 01, 2013 08:14AM — 0 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: horror, classic-horror, fiction_speculative_horror, horror-classics, horror-fiction, and horror-literature