Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Saving Winslow” as Want to Read:
Saving Winslow
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Saving Winslow

3.73  ·  Rating details ·  900 ratings  ·  197 reviews
Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his fathe
...more
ebook, 176 pages
Published September 11th 2018 by HarperCollins
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Paul  Hankins
Review closer to release date, but. . .this is Sharon Creech. You're already heading away from this post to pre-order. I won't keep you any longer.
Jessica
I wanted to love this so much more. I feel like, much like a tiny premature donkey, I wanted this story to get fatter as it went along, but it just felt too light, to short. Some heavy topics were brought up, but then just sort of pushed away again. I feel like, even for a book for young kids, she could have dug deeper.
Patrick
Jun 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
So great to have a new Sharon Creech novel out in the world. Sweet, heart-felt story.
Heidi Burkhart
Sep 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A tender story about a boy who raises a tiny donkey. Perfect for elementary students.
Leonard Kim
Oct 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
I thought this was a better showcase for Creech’s formidable talents than some of her other recent books. Maybe a shade too “literary” at times, but I think both broadly appealing and unsurprisingly masterful.
Elly Swartz
Sep 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech is a heartprint book that is masterfully told. And, while this is a story about saving a donkey, Creech has woven in so much more. It is a tale about a boy who struggles to find his purpose, a girl who’s afraid to love for fear of loss, and a family who misses a son who’s away serving our country. This is a story of believing and loving and finding ourselves. I highly recommend.
Madison
May 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: childrens
A heartwarming story of a young donkey, the boy who is determined to save him, and the way in which small things can sometimes have the biggest impact. Lyrical and sweet, Saving Winslow is a simple but touching story for young and middle-grade readers.

When Louie is given another of his Uncle Pete’s orphan animals, a newborn donkey, everyone warns him not to get too attached, as it will probably die anyway. But there is something about the tiny, grey bundle that whispers to Louie that here is an
...more
Jillian Anderson
Sep 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
What a sweet read! Sharon Creech has done it again. Louie’s Dad brings home an orphaned donkey and Louie volunteers to raise it despite everyone telling him that the donkey may not make it. Nora, a neighbor girl, won’t even touch the donkey because she is afraid Winslow is in for a short life. But slowly Winslow makes his way into the hearts of Louie’s family and neighborhood. The way Louie believes in this spindlely Winslow is admirable.
Lorie Barber
I find it nothing short of incredible that Sharon Creech continues to pack so much heartfelt emotion and incredible life lessons into a short-ish space. I have fallen in love with Winslow, Louie, and Nora and I know my students will, too. What a pleasure to read this summer morning.
Michele Knott
Jun 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Sharon Creech is always able to pack so many things to talk about in her books in a smaller number of pages than most. She's that wonderful with words.
Lynn
Jul 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Sigh! Louie and Winslow won my heart. Lovely!
Cristina Quattrone
I know some reluctant readers who would be smitten by this story
Sandra
Oct 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Louie has never had success with raising animals, but he decidedly takes on the mission to nurse a newborn donkey to health. His friend Nora, who has experienced difficult losses of her own, finds it hard to get close to Winslow. This is a wonderful story for children who love animals. It is an affirmation to daring to take on challenges, to love, and to hope.
Ms. Yingling
Jul 12, 2018 rated it liked it
E ARC from Edelweiss Plus



When his somewhat irresponsible Uncle Pete's miniature donkey is ailing and gives birth prematurely, Louie's mother and father let Louie try to nurse the baby back to health, warning him the whole time that it is likely the animal won't make it. Since Louie is missing his brother Gus, who is in the army, and feels like his track record with keeping animals alive isn't great, Louie does his best. Louie hangs out with his best friend, Mack, a lot, and Mack has a huge crush
...more
Marathon County Public Library

When his father brings home a sickly, half-dead baby donkey in the middle of winter, Louie, who has not had luck keeping things alive like goldfish, worms and bugs, is determined to do whatever it takes to save it. Suffering the loss of his brother, Gus, who recently joined the army, having a baby donkey to love helps soothe Louie's lonely heart and gives him something to take his mind off his brother. But Winslow becomes so much more than that, and even his eccentric and pessimistic new friend,

...more
Sandy Brehl
I can't imagine any reader not being a fan of Sharon Creech's books, but this latest is ideal for independent young readers and for use in classrooms. I'm a fan of read aloud novels in class, but particularly of high quality SHORT novels, allowing many more to be read over the course of a school year. In this case, the compelling main plot regarding a remarkable miniature donkey's survival will have listeners (and readers) on a page-turning frenzy. What Creech has managed to achieve, though, is ...more
Karen Parisot
Sep 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
When Louie’s dad brings home a newborn orphaned donkey, Louie is immediately smitten and volunteers to take care of him. The thing is though, Louie has a terrible track record when it comes to caring for small creatures. As in a zero percent success rate. He’s an enthusiastic and loving young caregiver though and is determined to save the baby donkey he names Winslow.
An excellent book for middle grade readers. It’s all about responsibility and friendship. Ms. Creech is an award winning author an
...more
Jill
Oct 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Louie (10) hasn't done a great job of taking care of pets in his lifetime. A few of his pets that have died or went missing were a snake, hamster, goldfish, and lizard. One day Louie's dad brings home a weak, orphaned mini-donkey from his Uncle Pete's farm. He knows that his luck with animals is about to change. Louie wants to make a difference like his brother, Gus, who is stationed out of state in the Army. His new friend, Nora, has doubts that Louie can save Winslow. Can Louie nurse the donke ...more
Jordan Henrichs
Oct 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
There's something nostalgic about reading a Sharon Creech novel. I've used so many of her books as mentor texts in the classroom. I place her alongside Spinelli as an all-time favorite. Saving Winslow shows she's still got it. When you're a master of your craft, you don't need 350+ pages to tell a complete, thorough story. Great character development and an efficient plot. Kids love animal books. This will make for a fantastic read aloud.
Heather
Oct 17, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A short but lovely tale of a boy and his donkey. Louie is a winsome hero... gentle yet determined that nothing bad will happen to his precious Winslow. Pessimistic and prickly Nora is an excellent foil for the optimistic Louie, but she's likable just the same. Recommended for fans of barnyard creatures and lovable underdogs.
Melissapalmer404
Book #74 Read in 2018
Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech

This is a sweet, cute read, geared towards middle school readers. Louie takes over the care of a poor, pitiful donkey that he names Winslow. He bottle feeds him, takes care of him, sleeps by him and hopes that Winslow will make it. This book shows the effect that a sweet animal can have on people...both young and old. I borrowed this book from the library.
Kris Patrick
Sep 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Sharon Creech makes every word count. I found myself rereading chapters to slow down and appreciate the writing perfection. Starts strong, finishes strong. I would read the first page as my book talk. A beautiful cover.

I’ve been mighty generous with my stars this week. Maybe fall break fever is kicking in? Have I mentioned that I get two glorious weeks!?!?
Amanda Williams
Sep 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Always a fan!
Cathy
Nov 17, 2018 rated it really liked it
Such a sweet story.
Wendy
Sep 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: childrens
Adorable.
DaNae
You can't really go wrong with a story that begins with a sickly animal being dropped off in a kitchen. A nice, if heavly-themed, rescue story.
Eva
Nov 23, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2018-books
Nicely written but too short for me to get involved in the characters' lives all that much.
Cassie Thomas
Sep 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sharon has such a way with words. This is a sweet story that means so much more than just taking care of a donkey. There's grit, love, understanding, and compassion. Students will love to read this and will be rooting for Winslow and Louie from start to finish, and by the end, they will be rooting for Nora, too.
Bridget
Nov 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Such a sweet little read. I loved the characters, the donkey, and how everything came together in the end.
Jennifer Mangler
The relationships that Louie and Nora forge with Winslow are just so sweet. This is a lovely book.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
1,954 followers
I was born in South Euclid, Ohio, a suburb of Cleveland, and grew up there with my noisy and rowdy family: my parents (Ann and Arvel), my sister (Sandy), and my three brothers (Dennis, Doug and Tom).
For a fictional view of what it was like growing up in my family, see Absolutely Normal Chaos. (In that book, the brothers even have the same names as my own brothers.) Our house was not only full of
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »